Bangai O on the Nintendo 64!

From what I understand, there were only 10,000 copies of this game produced. That means in reality that not everyone that owns an N64 console can possess this game. That seems to make this game the Holy Grail of N64 game collections. And from looking at online auctions, there are a lot of games that no longer have the box and booklet included. This has created some very inflated prices for a copy complete and in the box. Even the stray cart carries a big price tag. Presently, as of this writing, I have seen a cart go for as high as $129 USD and a CIB go for at least $225 USD. (Somehow condition does not seem to be an issue.) Which makes me so happy I was able to grab a nice copy for $85 including box and booklet. (Not that much over the original retail price.) I don’t have what seems to be a couple of cards, possibly registration card, etc. So mine is not complete by “collector standards.”

All this fuss over a “2D” shooter! But this is no ordinary shooter. This game was designed and created by Treasure, the same people that brought us Sin & Punishment. I’ve played the Dreamcast and the DS versions, but this is my first time experiencing the original N64 game.

You have two different shots, a bouncing shot and a sort-of homing shot. And then there is the mega shot when holding down the button it increases until you have 100 shots to release. Each level can be considered short by some with plenty of things to blow up until you find the boss. The gameplay is wacky, open, and free.

Even though you are timed, there is still time enough to blow practically everything you desire in each level before running across the boss. Collecting fruit from the things you destroy has something to do with your weapons upgrade and at some point you are given a choice of three things, but I have yet to figure this out. Everything is in Japanese. The game is simple mindless fun and satisfying. If you love the shooter genre, like I do, then you will delight in playing this game. To me, it was worth the price of admission. This is total accessible to anyone not understanding Japanese. And it does not take long to learn the menus. (Not sure but I think memory seems to be saved to cart.)

In comparing the different console versions where the game is found: Music wise, each version of the game has its own composer. I get the same electricity from the music but they are different compositions. The N64 Bangai-o has its own feel. The Dreamcast, even though the same in concept, has its own feel. The gameplay has been changed, evolved, tweaked, depends on the one playing, whether this is good or bad. And I think the music is a part of the atmosphere. Using the N64 controller seems to give me a better experience, my opinion. After playing all,I tend to lean toward the N64 version as the better game. I look at it as the original intended game and the rest being just variations. I now have the N64, Dreamcast, and the DS versions.

This game is a blast fest and ranks at the top of my list on the N64.

Leave a comment